A-to-Z Food America contains recipes in all course categories (appetizers, soups, salads, breads, main courses, side dishes, desserts, snacks, and beverages) for six US regions, all 50 states, and 33 ethnic cuisines. This resource also covers food culture for the above regions, states, and ethnic cuisines with articles such as Classic Dishes, State Foods, Top Agricultural Products, Special Occasion Foods, Ethnic and Geographic Influences, Special Ingredients, and Food Trivia.
Contains 202 world city travel guides. These beautifully illustrated and up-to-date guides cover travel essentials, attractions, insiders' information, excursions, nightlife, shopping, culture, cuisine, restaurants, health, security, language, maps, hotels, and lots more.
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,200 journals and a total of more than 11,700 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
- AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. AHFS has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest.
Search over 180 international journals and reports about holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
The Physical Review journal collection of 14 leading peer-reviewed research journals includes Physical Review Letters, Physical Review X, Physical Review, and Reviews of Modern Physics. They are provided by the American Physical Society (APS) which is a nonprofit membership organization working to advance the knowledge of physics.
AmericanAncestors.Org is a product of the New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS), America’s founding genealogical organization and the most respected name in family history. This resource provides access to more than 1.4 billion records that covers over twenty-two countries, including the United States, the British Isles, and continental Europe. This product also includes an extensive online collection of early American genealogical records and published genealogical research journals and magazines, and the largest collection of U.S Catholic records online. Educational resources are also available to help genealogy hobbyists improve their skills.
Access to thousands of databases of genealogical and historical information.
Information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, covering more than 37,000 vehicles from 1954 to present. Previously called Automate.
An index to Louisiana popular periodicals
EBSCO's comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.
Provides basic information on over 200,000 film titles and 450,000 music titles.
This primary source collection offers more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications, to provide a window into African American history, culture, and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. The sources in this collection covers the time period between pre-Revolution America and the early 21st century.
Book Collection: Nonfiction™ is a cross-curricular database providing content that represents a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers such as Allosaurus Publishers, Bess Press, Inc., Branden Publishing, Capstone Press, Compass Point Books, Fulcrum Publishing, Lerner Publishing Group, Mason Crest Publishers, Morgan Reynolds, Inc., Morning Glory Press, Oliver Press, Rourke Publishing, LLC and Stackpole Books. This database contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,200 popular nonfiction books, and includes full-text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.
Full-text searchable reviews of book, music, and DVD/video titles.
Books In Print® is the world's largest bibliographic resource, with a comprehensive database of more than 19 million books, audio books, and video titles.
Please Note: The best Internet browsers for this database are Firefox, Microsoft Edge, and Safari
Hundreds of full color and black and white non-fiction downloadable e-books for ages preschool to 18.
Please note: Please choose Guest User option to access the e-books.
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
Convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information from EBSCO. Search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
Over 550 reference e-books covering a wide variety of subjects.
Locates information about a business based on the business name, SIC, or category of business. Includes small local businesses as well as national companies. Information provided includes the name of the business, location, number of employees, owner(s), subsidiaries and other data.
Access is for personal, non-commercial use only. This resource was formerly called ReferenceUSA.
Please Note: The best Internet browsers for this database are Firefox, Microsoft Edge, and Safari
Access historical real estate data for St. Tammany and Orleans Parish online with this resource. To access DeedFax Online, you must visit a St. Tammany Parish Library branch and speak with a reference librarian, opens a new window.
This resource includes basic computer instructions, as well as email and social media courses.
EBSCOhost offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers:
- Academic Search Complete, opens a new window
- AHFS Consumer Medication Information, opens a new window
- Alt HealthWatch, opens a new window
- Audiobook Collection (EBSCOhost), opens a new window
- BIR Entertainment, opens a new window
- Book Collection: Nonfiction, opens a new window
- Book Index With Reviews, opens a new window
- Business Source Complete, opens a new window
- CINAHL, opens a new window
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), opens a new window
- ERIC, opens a new window
- Ethnic Diversity Source, opens a new window
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, opens a new window
- GreenFILE, opens a new window
- Health Source - Consumer Edition, opens a new window
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, opens a new window
- History Reference Center, opens a new window
- Humanities International Complete, opens a new window
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, opens a new window
- MAS Ultra - School Edition, opens a new window
- MasterFILE Premier, opens a new window
- MEDLINE, opens a new window
- Middle Search Plus, opens a new window
- Military & Government Collection, opens a new window
- Primary Search, opens a new window
- Psychology And Behavioral Sciences Collection, opens a new window
- Regional Business News, opens a new window
- Religion And Philosophy Collection, opens a new window
- Science Reference Center, opens a new window
- SocINDEX With Full Text, opens a new window
- SPORTDiscus, opens a new window
- Vocational And Career Collection, opens a new window
EBSCO's MasterFILE Premier and eBook Collection in Spanish!
EBSCO's MasterFILE Premier and eBook Collection in French!
If you're thinking about starting a business, the entrepreneurial mindset course will help you to think like an entrepreneur! You'll learn how to discover opportunities that are hiding in plain sight; how cash-strapped entrepreneurs manage to identify, evaluate, and transform their ideas into a sustainable success; and how to develop a success network to help you avoid costly mistakes.
The course is self-paced and provides 10 hours of lectures, reflection assignments, and a printable completion certificate.
Search an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. This resource is provided by EBSCO.
Ethnic Diversity Source covers the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of people of color in the United States through full text scholarly journals, magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, speeches, primary source documents, and more.
Specializing in reliable content for students and teachers, Explora provides information from the world's leading magazines and reference books in the EBSCO databases. Browse categories organized by popular topic with overviews that provide a starting point for your research, or use the simple search that quickly delivers relevant results, including primary source documents, news articles, and Associated Press videos.
Fold3 provides access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Gale Courses offers a wide range of highly interactive, instructor led courses that you can take entirely online. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month. Topics include:
- Accounting and Finance
- Computer Programs
- Healthcare and Medical
- Language and Arts
- Law and Legal
- Personal Development
- Teaching and Education
- Writing and Publishing
This resource requires a valid St. Tammany Parish Library card. This resource can be used at school for the 2021-2022 school year.
Literary criticism, author biographies and business resources. Includes Twayne's and Scribner. This resource requires a valid St. Tammany Parish Library card as a Login ID. This resource can be used at school for the 2021-2022 school year.
General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers. This resource requires a valid St. Tammany Parish Library card as a Login ID. This resource can be used at school for the 2021-2022 school year.
Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text. This resource requires a valid St. Tammany Parish Library card as a Login ID. This resource can be used at school for the 2021-2022 school year.
Gale In Context: Elementary delivers trusted, age-appropriate digital content. Through newspaper and magazine articles, videos, images, and graphics, elementary students can learn about everything from animals and outer space to famous artists and favorite athletes. The database is visual and intuitive, and rewards students’ efforts by developing comprehension and research skills to prepare them for middle school—and a lifetime of learning. This resource can be used at school for the 2021-2022 school year.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This research database is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. The content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, and political science. This resource requires a valid St. Tammany Parish Library card as a Login ID. This resource can be used at school for the 2020-2021 school year.
Find and print legal forms, including contracts, wills, bankruptcy, power of attorney, divorce, and landlord-tenant. This resource requires a valid St. Tammany Parish Library card as a Login ID.
Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews. This resource requires a valid St. Tammany Parish Library card as a Login ID. This resource can be used at school for the 2021-2022 school year.
Gale™ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. This resource requires a valid St. Tammany Parish Library card as a Login ID. This resource can be used at school for the 2021-2022 school year.
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. This resource requires a valid St. Tammany Parish Library card as a Login ID.
Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online Databases Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its 30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Scribner Writers Series provides original, scholar signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods. This resource requires a valid St. Tammany Parish Library card as a Login ID. This resource can be used at school for the 2021-2022 school year.
Something About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. This resource requires a valid St. Tammany Parish Library card as a Login ID. This resource can be used at school for the 2021-2022 school year.
Twayne's is devoted to in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements. This resource requires a valid St. Tammany Parish Library card as a Login ID. This resource can be used at school for the 2021-2022 school year.
Gale Power Search allows you to search through 1,000 of magazines, journals, newspapers, and other content available through multiple Gale databases. This resource provides a variety of credible, up-to-date information from the following sources:
- Academic OneFile
- Gale eBooks
- Gale In Context: Biography
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
- General OneFile
- Scribner Writer Series
- Twayne's Authors Series
This resource requires a valid St. Tammany Parish Library card as a Login ID. This resource can be used at school for the 2021-2022 school year.
In-depth cultural, business, and travel information on 175 countries, including maps, points of interests, security briefings, popular recipes, and language dictionaries and videos.
GrantSelect is an extensive online grants database owned and operated by Schoolhouse Partners, and it contains more than 16,000 funding opportunities provided by more than 5,100 unique sponsoring organizations.
Using this database from home? Please use the Username: temp70433 and Password: Tamanend.
EBSCO's GreenFILE provides well researched information about the human impact on the environment.
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
With over 28,000 books currently available, the entire U.S. Federal Census, Freedman's Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension Records, and other expanding collections, HeritageQuest Online is designed specifically for patrons in public libraries who are either just beginning their family research or who after years of work are still uncovering their past.
EBSCO's History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Exclusive articles from the EBSCO databases covering over 140 topics, as well as many other periodicals, books and videos that focus on categories commonly referred to as hobbies and crafts; available in high-quality PDF format.
EBSCO's Home Improvement Reference Center is designed to assist homeowners in do-it-yourself home repair, maintenance, and remodeling projects. Step-by-step instructions for thousands of projects in the areas of plumbing, outdoor, woodworking, electrical, and decorating are provided in high-quality PDF files.
An EBSCOhost database, Humanities International complete includes articles from books, journals, and other published sources.
The Law Library of Louisiana is providing free online access to Fast Case. Fast Case offers data tools to help you complete your legal research. Please use the information below to login:
Need additional assistance? Email firstname.lastname@example.org or call (504) 310-2400.
A publication of Le Comité des Archives de la Louisiane, a non-profit genealogical support group for the Louisiana State Archives founded in 1978. Le Raconteur is published in March, June, September, and December. Each issue contains a variety of original genealogical and historical articles dealing with topics from around Louisiana. In order to access this journal online, you must visit a St. Tammany Parish Library branch and speak with a reference librarian, opens a new window.
A comprehensive interactive learning platform of tests, courses, software tutorials, and career preparation for students and adults. This resource includes:
- Adult Core Skills Center, opens a new window
- Career Preparation Center, opens a new window
- College Admission Test Preparation Center, opens a new window
- College Students Center, opens a new window
- Computer Skills Center, opens a new window
- High School Equivalency Center, opens a new window
- Job & Career Accelerator, opens a new window
- Recursos Para Hispanohablantes, opens a new window
- Student Success Skills Center, opens a new window
Provides online full text from EBSCO for many of the top consumer legal reference books and contains more than 310 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. Many of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
The oldest continuously produced information science database, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA) provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, research reports and conference proceedings. It provides ongoing coverage of the most important periodicals in the field.
Information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Information Services.
Find and print Louisiana legal forms, including contracts, wills, bankruptcy, power of attorney, divorce, and landlord-tenant. This resource requires a valid St. Tammany Parish Library card as a Login ID.
State agencies are allowed to fulfill their statutory obligation to participate in the Depository Program by providing documents in electronic format. The primary goal of the Digital Archive is to provide the public with permanent access to these digital publications that state agencies submit. Louisiana state documents, print and digital, are cataloged in the online catalog of the State Library and are available for use by all libraries regardless of depository status.
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra - School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps and flags.
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Miss Humblebee’s Academy is a fun and interactive online kindergarten-readiness learning tool for children ages 3 to 6. With hundreds of lessons in Math, Science and Social Studies, Language and Literacy, Art, and Music, the curriculum increases in difficulty as the user progresses through the program. Parents can track their child’s learning outcomes through weekly progress reports that are emailed and available online 24/7.
Miss Humblebee’s Academy can be used at the library, home, or on-the-go via smart phones, iPads, and tablets. Approximately twenty percent of the curriculum is available offline in the form of printables and practice worksheets.
Data reports covering more than 20,000 securities.
The electronic editions of current and archived full text newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications--all in one easy-to-search database.
NewspaperARCHIVE is the world's best resource for historical and genealogical information. Our unique archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news, and more. Explore your family tree and discover your history at NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the world's largest online newspaper archive. You can also create a free user account to save your searches and organize your research with folders through the library's subscription.
NoveList K-8 is especially for younger readers. It has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for kids in grades K-8. Use it to find just the right books for every reader.
Reading recommendations to help you find your next book.
Search through over 70 popular magazines for elementary school research with primary search. All full text articles contain lexile levels.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 560 journals.
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Provides extensive coverage on topics related to world religions, religious history, biblical studies, and the history of philosophy. This collection contains nearly 300 journals, including 250 peer reviewed titles. The Religion and Philosophy Collection is provided by EBSCOhost.
This collection of ebooks offers information on a variety of topics, including health, history, and science.
Consumer Health Complete - Spanish Edition
EBSCO's Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Provides up to date information from EBSCO on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books.
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.
Offers comprehensive coverage of sports and fitness related topics.
This resource allows access to the Times-Picayune online. The Digital Archive begins with the first issue of The Picayune published on January 25, 1837.
Value Line provides reliable, unbiased, and insightful investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies. It includes financial data for over 6,000 stocks, 18,000 mutual funds, 200,000 options, and other securities, as well as professional commentary and projection tools.
Provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry related periodicals.
The Weiss Financial Ratings Database provides strength ratings of Insurance Companies, Medicare Supplement Insurance, Banks and Credit Unions; conservative Investment Ratings of thousands of Mutual Funds and Stocks, plus helpful worksheets, planners and financial literacy tools. It also provides easy to understand financial information on topics such as managing debt, buying a car, purchasing homeowners insurance, preparing for retirement, making elder care choices, and more.
To access this resource from home, you must sign in with your library card.
Activity Corner offers thousands of fun, hands-on activities for kids of all ages.
World Book Advanced is a powerful research tool that includes full encyclopedic and multimedia databases supplemented with online books, primary sources, website links, back in time articles, special reports, and more.
An encyclopedia designed for middle school and jr. high students, World Book Discover features easy to read articles and includes reading comprehension questions to help students focus on key concepts. Please Note: This resource works best with laptop and desktop computers.
Improve readers’ fluency and comprehension with dramatic readings in the classroom, library, or after-school program! Dramatic Learning expands proven approaches to enhancing reading skills.
Learn about people, places, animals, sports, and more. Includes videos, images, maps, and games.
Get connected to the library's suite of World Book Online resources, which are inspired by the renowned encyclopedia.
This comprehensive database includes engaging content, built-in features, and fun tools specifically designed to make knowledge accessible and easy-to-find for all kids in elementary through middle school.
Build and share timelines using your own events and images or add content and images from World Book.
Offering a comprehensive set of curriculum-based drills, World Book Wizard is a personalized way to help students master skills in Science and Social Studies.